education-mainstage

Pre- and Post-Show Workshops

Already bringing your class to Hartford Stage? Now bring Hartford Stage to your class! A Hartford Stage Teaching Arist will visit your school to lead your class in an interactive workshop connected to the play. Preshow workshops focus on preparing students to see the play by introducing major characters, thematic elements, and/or historical context. Post-show workshops provide an opportunity for students to interpret what they have experienced at the theatre and relate it back to their in-class work. Each workshop runs one 45-60 minute class period for a fee of $100.

InterACT

Application Deadline Extended to July 20th

InterACT exposes hundreds of underserved students in grades 9-12 to professional theatre by inviting them to participate in the Student Performance Series, Hartford Stage’s student matinee program, free of charge.  Teachers may apply for participation of one or two classes.  All InterACT students experience a series of in-school, pre- and post-show workshops that explore themes related to the productions.  InterACT is subsidized through Hartford Stage corporate and foundation funding.

Download the 2014-15 Application

Goals

Through InterACT, Hartford Stage aims to

  • Expose students to a wide range of genres of dramatic literature and performance styles reflecting the diversity of performing arts practitioners, our audience, and our community.
  • Develop critical skills related to drama and language arts.
  • Strengthen the relationship between students and Hartford Stage by cultivating students’ identities as scholars, critics, and fans of live theatre.

For more information about InterACT or pre- and post-show workshops, contact  Erin Frederick, 860-520-7244, or efrederick@hartfordstage.org

 

MainStage Programs

Student Performance Series

Bring your students to see a play at Hartford Stage! Each Student Performance Series ticket includes access to our online study guidescurriculum guides and the opportunity to stay for a talkback hosted by an Education Staff member.

Our 2014/15 Main Stage Season:

HAMLET

By William Shakespeare
Directed by Darko Tresnjak

Recommended for 9th grade and up (contains violence)
Themes & Topics for discussion: Shakespeare, Mortality, Honor and Revenge, Meaning of Life

Student Matinees – 10:30 AM

  • Wednesday, Nov. 5 
  • Thursday, Nov. 6 
  • Tuesday, Nov. 11
  • Wednesday, Nov. 12
  • Thursday, Nov. 13 (InterACT)
  • Friday, Nov. 14

A CHRISTMAS CAROL
A Ghost Story of Christmas

By Charles Dickens
Adapted and Originally Directed by Michael Wilson
Directed by Maxwell Williams

Recommended for 4th grade and up (contains spooky characters and images that may be frightening for very young audience members)
Themes & Topics for discussion: Dickens, Adaptation of Literature, Industrial Revolution, Greed and Generosity, Responsibility to Others

Student Matinees – 10:30 AM

  • Tuesday, Dec. 2
  • Wed, Dec. 3 (InterACT)
  • Thursday, Dec. 4
  • Friday, Dec. 5
  • Tuesday, Dec. 9
  • Wednesday, Dec. 10
  • Thursday, Dec. 11
  • Friday, Dec. 12
  • Tuesday, Dec. 16
  • Wednesday, Dec. 17

THE PIANIST OF WILLESDEN LANE

Based on the Book The Children of Willesden Lane by Mona Golabek and Lee Cohen
Adapted and Directed by Hershey Felder

Recommended for 6th grade and up (contains references to violence and images of the Holocaust)
Themes & Topics for discussion: Holocaust, Kindertransport, Music, Family, Courage and Survival

Student Matinees – 10:30 AM

  • Thursday, Apr. 9 (InterACT)
  • Tuesday, Apr. 21
  • Wednesday, Apr. 22
  • Thursday, Apr. 23